When I make a knife or art piece just for the sake of making it out of something new or use a new fabrication technique, it is for me that I go through the process. It is for someone else that the blade or art is to go to. It is tradition to give away the first object of something new to someone else, and selling it is ok too as long as one does not rake them over the coals.

In this case I forged some M2 tool steel into a Scandanavian blade. The forging was fun, careful work and still fun.  I love to use M2 for stock removal items and some welded items too.  It likes to rust and still hold a great cutting edge.  I have been sitting in this Mora style blade for a year or so and it never in my heart found a worthy home.

Once the spark went off in my head the rest was easy.  For the handle I used some old red oak that was stabilized for flooring and some Labrador caribou antler.  Then I died the wood and antler a nice dark cherry red that has taken on a gorgeous dark patina.  The blade had been gun blued a year ago and not a speck or rust showed.   The husband of the future owner does leather work and I will leave that to him.  And still something was lacking.  It has been about a month since it was ready to ship and it was only waiting on some other items, not to be detailed here, to be ready to accompany it on the road home.

At 0400 this morn I had a moment of inspiration, of clarity.  A great friend of many years once sent me a whale bone from the spine for me to do as I please.  Now I please to use it for a stand for the blade mentioned above.  With some mild carving and a little polishing it will be added to the mail bag.

I am off to work some calcium, more to follow.

Cyber

